Link

10 Tips on Sticking with a Fitness Routine

10 Tips on Sticking with a Fitness Routine

Via Boston.com. 

Came across my Facebook feed. In a way, I have done my own version of a few of these. They’re not bad ideas, certainly. I just find that, in all things, your mileage may vary. I used to find advice like this daunting; I never felt like I was doing it right.

When I started this little project, I apparently decided to do things my way. I hadn’t really realized until now, but it was with a little advice from a friend, and some pig-headed determination, and little else that I set out to start. First, it was five-minute cardio exercises, then it was the Couch to 5k. 

What I’m saying is, the most important piece of advice I can give to anyone struggling to keep their new year’s resolutions is: do what works for you. You can do it, but first you have to find a way to make it your own.

3 thoughts on “10 Tips on Sticking with a Fitness Routine

  1. I agree with you, I read a few of those how to succeed articles and what I drew from it was I have tried that stuff in the past, the only thing that is different this time is that I am determined (pig headed).

    • I’m often a little self-deprecating, but determination is probably the best thing one can do for exercise. It means you’re owning it and doing it for yourself. So, pig-headed determination that gets you fit: hard to really put into a ten tips list, but probably my number one tip!

Leave a Reply

