The Loss and Retention of Momentum

Monday is a day I should go running. Today, however, with the remnants of a cold–I hope it’s a cold–still rattling around my head and sinuses, I decided against it. Many of my neighbors’ landlords, or my neighbors themselves, are evidently too lazy to clear the sidewalks anyway. I assume laziness, not just because of my misanthropic streak, but because of the stretch of sidewalk across the street that looks like someone tossed rock salt on it hoping that would solve the problem (which it has not). 

As I fell asleep on Sunday night, I wondered whether running with an audiobook would be at all interesting–I picked up the Humble Bundle’s recent audiobook collection, and have been listening to Dave Eggers’ A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius–I had also forgotten that the Zombies Run app only works with the handful of playlists that are on my phone. The audiobook has temporarily replaced the Zombies Run app while I’m trying to walk my way to 10,000 steps. Still fit, less energy, and something my tired, sick body is more easily capable of. 

My big fear, however, is that the momentum I made up with running–the building a routine, the regular 2.5-3 mile runs, the conditioning and training–is going to start fading as I spend less and less time in my running shoes. I know I’ll need to work my way back up to a 5k, but am I going to give up entirely? Am I just going to decide the whole thing was a pointless exercise in, well, exercise?

As I shower, get ready for my job (my work schedule has changed, giving me a little more time at the higher-paying of the two jobs), I go actively seeking that voice of exercise approval. Which, is apparently aware of my situation, is taking it easy on me. It seems as though my inner monologue is taking it easy on me while I fight a cold. I start to feel more sure about getting back out there. This isn’t permanent, this is just a cold. Hopefully not the flu, but possibly that. But, it’s not going to keep me down. 

I hop into the shower, the steamy water clears out my head and sinuses. I feel healthier, altough still in desperate need of a tea before I head out to work. Just shy of invincible. 

And still not frost-proof; I can’t wait for the snow to clear and the temperatures to heat up. 

One thought on “The Loss and Retention of Momentum

  1. Pingback: Walking it Off | The Unsure Runner

Leave a Reply

