Setting Goals, Sort Of

Yesterday, for the first time in about a month, I went to my mother’s house and remembered to hop on the scale. More people have been noticing my appearance lately, so my curiosity was piqued. I was, I believe, 11.4 pounds lighter than when I last visited; also at a later point in the day than I had weighed myself previously (TMI: I still had lunch in my tummy).

A friend/former co-worker asked what my goal was, and it occurred to me that I haven’t really set one. I’m at 35 lost, and about 10 lbs away from my fairly arbitrary goal on MyFitnessPal. I told him I was about halfway to my goal, which I guess is what I’m shooting for now. Ideally, I’ll get a little below that, but I’ll see how things feel when I hit that number. Another friend (former roommate) asked if it was all from running. The short answer is yes, the longer answer is that and tracking my food intake. The goal of that was to track my sodium intake, for the sake of my blood pressure.

Of course, with St. Patrick’s day, my family decided to do boiled beef and cabbage. The latter is fine, but the former contains about a day’s worth of salt in just one portion. So, I was grateful for a run come Monday morning–hopefully, it would sweat out some of the excess.

The Chestnut Hill Reservoir track was about 95% clear. I returned to the familiar landmarks, the pump houses, false corner cove, and the newly-named Sunless cove (so called because it was still covered in a thin sheet of ice). It was a lovely return to a familiar place for, what feels like, a new chapter in my running career. I tossed on a half-hour free-run program on the RunDouble app, the same one used for my C25k program, and laced up in my warm weather attire.

I completed the C25k program mostly on the Reservoir, and most of Zombies, Run 2’s first season on the streets around my home. My hope is to be back on the Reservoir as the warm weather returns. As I learned before, two circuits of the track is a full 5k.

This is important to know, because I am aiming to run a 5k come June. A friend of mine, who also runs, works at the AIDS Action Coalition, who are hosting a fundraising run.

In the meantime, I have also signed up for the Boston Area Rape Crisis Center’s annual Walk for Change, which takes place on April 13. I grant it isn’t running, but BARCC provides an incredible service free of charge to survivors of sexual violence; so I intend to hit my readers here up for money. If I manage to beat what I raised last year, $500, my running partner and I intend to complete the race dressed as Adventure Time’s Finn the Human and Marceline. I’m just sayin’!

Thus, while I am raising funds for one or the other, I’ll put a link at the bottom. Donate. Or don’t.

Shirt of the Day: Coast City Comic-Con 2013 Staff shirt.
Current Fundraiser: BARCC

3 thoughts on “Setting Goals, Sort Of

  1. Congrats on your weight loss! I lost about 35 lbs the old fashioned way: better diet and more exercise. Having defined goals like running a 5k is a lot more positive than having a specific number in mind. Sounds like you’re on the right track. Also, Adventure Time is awesome!

  2. Pingback: Randomly Recalled | The Unsure Runner

  3. Pingback: Back At It | The Unsure Runner

Leave a Reply

