The Marathon

I was not running in the marathon. Nor, am I inspired yet to do so. But, I had a couple of friends who went out there. Power to them! They should be as proud of themselves as I am of them.

I set out in the early afternoon, with the goal of seeing my friend Sam–one of the first people to read this blog, back in the day–as he made his run. A large group of Sam supporters gathered at the 40km mark, and waited for him to run past. We high-fived a whole mess of runners before he made it to where we were.

As he heard us chanting his name, he changed course and slowed to a brief walk to give each of us a high five and say hi. We yelled support. I later learned he had slowed his pace in the later stages of the raceĀ because of an injury. But, the fact that he stopped to see us, and started up again, was a big sign. He thanked us on Facebook the next morning, adding that he couldn’t have done it without our support.

Below are some photos I took from the race. I had intended to get a picture of Sam while he passed, but my phone’s camera apparently forgot how to camera for the roughly 30 seconds it took him to pass us…

This man was really excited, had a great energy, even with about two miles to go.

This man was really excited, had a great energy, even with about two miles to go.

Some runners helping a wheelchair racer past us.

Some runners helping a wheelchair racer past us.

How this man was not sweating his sack off, I will not know.

How this man was not sweating his sack off, I will not know.

The Citgo sign, a Boston landmark, and about a billion people running.

The Citgo sign, a Boston landmark, and about a billion people cheering.

 

Bonus, the MBTA is not as fast as the women’s running champion. Which makes Bostonians all feel justified in complaining. Or, in asking her to give us a piggy back ride.

One thought on “The Marathon

  1. Pingback: Control Group | The Unsure Runner

Leave a Reply

