Belated Disclaimers

Today marks the end of my 9-week Couch to 5k program. Which I’ve completed three times, maybe four so far. And that I started again around May of this year. I am probably not a sporting role model.

Since I started running roughly two years ago, I lost around 40 lbs. I think I lost more, but regained a few during my idle time about this time last year. My philosophy on weight loss and exercise is fairly lax: As long as I’m making net progress week over week, I don’t worry too much about it; I don’t even sweat the off weeks, because it sets the bar lower for the next week. That said, here’s the belated disclaimer: I don’t know what I’m talking about.

I mention this because I’ve probably given some advice to friends, family, and inadvertently to my readers. I realized it when I recounted what I did to my girlfriend, who took some of my advice, which didn’t pan out. There’s a lot I don’t know about the human body, nutrition, etc. While what worked for me, did, it may not work for you.

One of my life philosophies is that your mileage may vary. This, I find, applies to most situations regarding personal situations, and it’s mostly a pithy way of saying “do what works for you, but don’t assume it’s going to work for someone else.” I am more comfortable endorsing that as a way of life than I am endorsing running as a weight-loss program, mostly because it covers my ass well. If it works for you, let it work; I’m not going to tell you what not  to do.

You can also combine my two philosophies into a pretty sweet (at least I think it’s sweet) corollary: Don’t worry too much about weight: yours, or that of another person. If it works for you, it works for you. Your body is also going to work differently than another person’s. So, the answer for them may not be as simple as exercise, it could be any number of variables that you simply don’t know about. So, don’t be judgin’.

Because I am already probably overstaying my welcome already by saying “I don’t know what I’m talking about” and then immediately switching to “But here’s my advice,” I’ll probably stop here.

I should probably also drop a lampshade on the fact that I don’t really have as much influence as I probably sound like I think I do. I know I don’t, but as usual, this is the kind of thing I think about when I’m actually out running.

2 thoughts on “Belated Disclaimers

Leave a Reply

